Picture
"Unless you have been very, very lucky, you have undoubtedly experienced events in your life that have made you cry.  So unless you have been very, very lucky, you know that a good, long session of weeping can often make you feel better, even if your circumstances have not changed one bit."  ~Lemony Snicket 

Tears can be very comforting. Sometimes there's just so much going on that you have no choice but to cry. Tears through laughter is a wonderful emotion, but you will always have times where those tears are not associated with laughter, but instead are associated with grief and some other overwhelming sense of despair.

Consider yourself like a bucket of water standing out in the rain. Each drop adds to the amount of water, but there comes a point where there is so much rain in the bucket that it just starts to overflow. We're the same with our emotions. Each stressful situation or triggering event adds to our bucket of water until there comes a time where we need to let it out. 

The healthiest way to let out overwhelming emotion is to cry. Sometimes it's hard to get yourself to cry when you know that you really need to. This can result in resorting to more unhealthy ways of trying to get some water out of your bucket. 

I can't cry in front of people as I feel really awkward. I grew up learning to suppress my emotions and now, as an adult, I still can't cry around people unless there's no other choice. I also get awkward around other people crying around me. It's not that I don't care. It could be someone I love and care about, but I just don't know how to handle it. I'm not used to being comforted when I cry. If you haven't experienced that comfort properly, how can you know how to comfort other people?

Crying is natural. You shouldn't be ashamed to cry. If anything, after you've cried it can make you feel a lot better, even if it hasn't changed anything, you've poured out some of that water from the bucket. Inevitably it will fill back up again, but until then.. 




Leave a Reply.